Like trying to fill a bathtub with no drain plug…

Is that title too gross? Some words just gross me out but I couldn’t think of a clearer way to communicate how i felt. “Drain” is a nasty word like oozing and sloughing. And “Plug”? I have no idea, but gag me with a spoon already! I have no idea why i’m still writing this paragraph. I should really just delete it and start over, but in my experience, my creativity is based on 25% inappropriate topics, 30% things i would normally filter into the do-not-mention category, 20% no small children fighting over the same toy in a room full of similar toys, and 70% good old Holy Spirit. I realize that’s more than 100% but let’s keep in mind that that’s how the Holy Spirit rolls sometimes.

Anyway, before I started espousing the characteristics of words most commonly used in a wound clinic, the point of this whole blog was to assure you–dear reader–that I haven’t forgotten you this last month. Nothing saps my creativity faster than being constantly needed by people that don’t have a “Hey, let’s go play by ourselves and not fight or pull the dog’s tail!” button. I would even take a “regular naptime” button, but neither of my children have that one either. I’m pretty sure theirs was a factory recall but they are cute little buggers so i decided to keep them–dysfunctional nap button and all.

One of the tough things about being a creative person is that my creativity is a lifeline to God and one of the ways we intrinsically communicate. I am in his presence most when I’m sitting at the piano–even if it’s in a dirty house and in my bathrobe while my children get into the fruitsnacks. Even busting out the old glue gun can bring me into His presence, because it isn’t merely the aspect of occupying my hands and sitting still to think but simply tapping into an aspect of my nature that was divinely inspired. Most of the time that I write, I feel the introspective heart of God probing my own. It’s important to know yourself–even as cliche as that sounds. Just because you tick when everyone else tocks, doesn’t mean your tick is wrong. Although usually a tick isn’t a good thing. But you get what I’m saying, though…right?

You know, I really had a point I was trying to make with that whole blog title and now it doesn’t seem to apply quite as much. I was trying to use a word picture to show how being a mother to two “lively” children affects my creativity. Aaaanyway. That’s the other thing about kids–they take away your short-term memory.

Hi, what are we doing here again?…oh right, i was blogging.

Squirrel!

Standard

Leave a Reply

