Turning Coffee Into Water

Here’s an age-old question that sounds innocent, but is really just a sneaky way to weasel out of responsibility. Who is my neighbor? It’s not so unlike Am I my brother’s keeper? I think we ask these questions because we’re really just looking for someone to reassure our selfish tendencies. Here’s the simple answer. Your neighbor is anyone who has a need that you are aware of. Not necessarily someone who shares your neighborhood, social status, or geographic location.

If this is true, then one in six of your friends does not have access to clean water. How many people are in your immediate family or close circle of friends? Who is your one in six? Mine is my little sister. I can’t imagine her going all day with nothing better than murky, disease ridden water that was carried for miles before she could drink it. Allowing her to take the place in my head of some nameless, faceless person who I will never meet seems a little more effective to my heart response.

I hope you can allow this to challenge your perspective on the poor…the orphaned, widows, and the waterless. I hope you can balk for a tiny bit at the ridiculousness of picturing your best friend since high school with no clean water, and remind yourself that this is how Jesus wants us to understand His good neighbor gospel. I can almost hear the jingle, Like a good neighbor, (insert name here) is there!

I know. that was cheesy. Seriously catchy jingle. That’s probably why I have my insurance through State Farm. I feel like a sell-out all of a sudden…

Anyway, so right now I have a bunch of photos on display in Scandia Bakery in stanwood. If you are a local yokel, please go check them out. On display is a tea and coffee still life collection to illustrate the simple pleasure most of us enjoy every day. The prices start at a minimum suggested donation of $60 per piece, but please feel free to donate more. 100% of the profits will be used to dig a deep well in another country where coffee isn’t a possibility. Please contact me for reprints or different sizes. Who is your one in six?

Standard

4 thoughts on “Turning Coffee Into Water

  1. Is there a way to see your pics if we can’t get to see them on display? I would like to – Our church has launched a clean water campaign at Easter for the last few years called Spilling Hope. We are challenged to spend the 40 days after Easter Sunday living simply, saving our pennies and giving towards digging wells in Africa. This year, our Pastor filmed the Easter message during his trip to visit some of the projects in Uganda. I am excited to see it!

  2. Pingback: For Chrissie | Every Day of the Year

Leave a Reply

