In Which Violet Scares The Living Daylights Out Of Us

I don’t know that I’d go quite so far as to say that I’m a scaredy-cat, but I am certainly aware of noises in the dark. Things that go bump in the night are also the kinds of things that keep me lying still in my bed holding my breath so I can hear if someone is breaking into my house. I know, not likely…but. AJ gets up and leaves the house for work every morning while there are still hours of darkness outside. I don’t usually go back to sleep because it’s helpful for us to be on the same sleeping schedule. This way, when we flop into bed at the end of the day I don’t spend two hours talking his ear off while his eyes glaze over.

Anyway. So yesterday morning, I laid down on my bed with the intent of reading, but I woke with a spine-shuddering jolt twenty minutes later when my bedroom door suddenly flew open.

I’ll be honest. My first response to my sweet, sleepy eyed girl bounding into the room was not a good one. It may have included some partially bleeped swear words.

It seems Violet now knows how to get out of her crib in the morning. We have purposely kept her in a crib with the sides up to hold off the inevitable as long as possible.

Fast forward to this morning. I forgot to tell AJ about this new phase. Translation? I guess he’s easily scared or something because he used up a weeks worth of adrenaline in the first half second he was awake.

Standard

2 thoughts on “In Which Violet Scares The Living Daylights Out Of Us

  1. I DO get scared very easily and that would’ve made me freak out. I hate getting scared! So…is Violet going to move to a big bed now? I’m glad Judah still is in a crib but, I know that day is coming!

  2. Natalie says:

    it’s only fair that you both get to experience it. i am a proponent of the door knob cover on the inside of the bedroom door. doesn’t really work once they’re potty trained, though, if you really want them to use the bathroom when they need to…

Leave a Reply

