Fat Tuesday

Today is Fat Tuesday. Not that I know anyone who actually celebrates it, but…

Fat Tuesday, or Mardi Gras is the day before the season of Lent, which is characterized by fasting or abstinence from certain luxuries in preparation for the celebration of Easter. It reminds me that I have something I can abstain from. It reminds me that I live in a country where I can choose to forgo food. Every three seconds, somewhere in the world, a child dies from hunger. In the time that it has taken for you to read this far, five children have already died. Five faces who reflect, as Mother Teresa once said, “Christ, in His most distressing disguise.” This year, celebrate Fat Tuesday with me. As soon as I hit “Publish” here I am heading over to World Vision to donate two chickens to a family in another country. Come join me, and experience the joy of giving.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Fat Tuesday

  1. Great idea
    – and just so you know, pretty much everyone in England was eating pancakes with lemon and sugar on Tuesday. We like to call it Pancake day but in culturally understandable terms I guess we eat crepes. I wanted to make them, but I am not sure that I could face gluten free pancakes…
    Wishing you a blessed Lent season x

Leave a Reply

