greatest song ever, a new love and why eagles are awesome

Here’s an indisputable fact. “Chariots of Fire” is the greatest movie soundtrack song ever. I know I said that already about the “Mission Impossible” opening, but this time I really mean it. Also, “Chariots of Fire” may quite possibly be one of the best movies of all time. If you have never seen it, the only remedy is to watch it soon, because unpacking that movie is outside of the scope of this blog. In a nutshell, it’s a story about Eric Liddle who was an olympic runner and a devoted christian. Anyway, there’s this great quote from that movie that I’ve been reminded of several times lately.

I believe God made me for a purpose, but he also made me fast. And when I run I feel His pleasure.

The idea of feeling God’s pleasure when we are doing what He created us for is nothing less than magical. There’s a place inside of me that resonates with this desire to do something–anything to feel the pleasure of God Almighty, but there’s also a part of me that trembles with fear at the thought of doing anything that would evoke such a strong emotion from God. It makes me think of surfing. I’ve never tried it because I’m not a huge fan of swimming or having my head underwater–either on purpose or not. I am pretty sure that actually catching a wave and riding it through would be an exhilarating experience, but most surfers I’ve ever watched end up falling down at the end of the ride with the whole salt water in the nose and head under water deal. It must not be that bad though, because apparently quite a few people think it’s a fun sport.

Anyway, my point is this: everyone has the ability to live in a way that evokes God’s pleasure. I know, I have felt it. It’s a pretty good indicator that you are exactly where you need to be–not circumstantially, but in your heart. A calling, if you will. I don’t mean this esoteric concept of a career change and cross-country move, but more of choice to embrace your circumstances and path.

Here’s a little assignment for you. Fill in the blank.

I believe God made me for a purpose, but he also made me _____. And when I ______ I feel His pleasure.

Mine? God made me a Mother, and when I mother, I feel His pleasure. I have many other answers I can fill in that blank with, but the one most often on my heart is mothering, as a calling from God.

Speaking of mothering, have you ever heard of imprinting? It usually occurs shortly after birth or hatching where a duckling or a goat, or a puppy, or a eaglet form a child/mother attachment with the first “person” they see. It’s a good thing I don’t clean my house as often as I should, because I’m pretty sure Henry would have imprinted on my vacuum cleaner. When Violet was a baby, she regarded the vacuum as her arch-nemesis, which you can read about here. Henry, on the other hand, is in love. Love, love love. Love. I have to put him in his little bouncy chair which effectively restrains him or else he would render vacuuming completely impossible. As it is, he watches in admiration and wonder at the beautiful dance of the vacuum cleaner as she swoops gracefully back and forth in front of him…and her voice? It renders him no less than lovestruck.

This is normal, right?

Last but not least, Eagles are awesome. You know, that right? Case in point: my uncle had a tree cut down near his house on Camano Island. In the tree they discovered a nest. An eagles nest. In the nest they found a collar. Then they found another one. And another one. When all was said and done, they counted out eighteen collars in that nest–dog and cat. I’m not a monster, I would be sad if an eagle swooped out of the sky and carried my squalling cat up and away. But let’s be honest–yappy little rodent-dogs only have one purpose in the circle of life and it looks like this eagle has discovered it.

Standard

One thought on “greatest song ever, a new love and why eagles are awesome

  1. Holy smokes….18 collars! That’s a lot. Like you, God also made me a mother. Sometimes mothering is challenging but, it is my calling, more than anything.

Leave a Reply

