Wuv, twoo wuv…

True love is love without conditions. When I hear “unconditional love” i kind of check out mentally because i’ve heard it a thousand times before. AJ and I were at a beautifully tender wedding this weekend where the officiant spoke about marriage being built on love without conditions. Just simply changing the phrasing there seems to make it grab my attention a little more. He also talked about how true love is about the covenant, not the chemistry. True love is about the covenant, not the chemistry. Say wha?
Dear Hollywood, it has recently come to my attention that you may be wrong about love…


Fast forward to Tuesday when I listened to a friend give a devotion on parenting and children. Being a mother is a ridiculously complicated, ever-changing, life-molding task, where absolutely EVERYTHING is at stake. What’s more, we don’t get to try it out first. Ha! You think you get real-life experience as a mom by babysitting or having younger siblings? Think again, my friend. In the course of her devotion, my friend compared parenting to marriage–except that in marriage we get to date first and see if this person drives us crazy or not. We also usually don’t have to change them, or force-feed them, or argue the logistics of which shoe goes on which foot. I think you can see where this comparison is going.
So I have to remind myself of this. True love is about the covenant, not the chemistry. True love is not about all the rainbows and giggles and playing games in a clean house that come only once in a blue moon, true love is about the sacred trust I hold as a mother to my children–whether or not I find them drawing with a permanent marker on something irreplaceable.
Fast forward to today. I’m not going to lie–we had a rough morning. Finally, we headed out the door to a friend’s house so that our children could entertain each other while we had adult conversations where we could link more than three words in a sentence. I had already failed miserably as a person and a mother too many times to count, which of course did nothing for my sunshiny mood, but as we drove off with steam still escaping from my ears, I heard my sweet girl pipe up from the back.
“Mommy not yucky! Mommy niiiiiice.”

Because true love is love without conditions.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Wuv, twoo wuv…

  1. Clayre says:

    Yikes…..Ive officially crossed over into mom-dom because that post made me cry. What a sweet realization and sweet moment!

  2. mom says:

    Its when ”the most is said and done”, when the rubber diaper has met the road, when the last word is ,” I’ll see( talk to ) you later”. When you wonder if it ever made any sense to them(your parenting), if They would remember that you loved ,cared , cried and prayed over them. And then you remember once again that it was all covental, what God had done for you and thru you and in you. You stop over and over again (probubly for the rest of your life) look up and say,”Thank You for the priviledge”, although I was in no condition to believe it as such in the moment.

Leave a Reply

