Who, What, Where.

Everyone always talks about how the favorite question of childhood is “Why”. Maybe we just haven’t gotten there yet, because lately Violet is preoccupied with asking the who, what, where in regards to everything you can imagine. I now know why so many parents make up answers to childhood questions. It’s not out of a devious desire to mislead, it’s just simply because they won’t accept “I don’t know” as an answer. The following is an excerpt from a car ride this afternoon.

“Mom, who is dat?”

“Is it a person?”

“No…”

“If it isn’t a person, we say What.”

“Mom, what is dat?”

“Ummmm, I can’t see where you’re pointing. I don’t know.”

“Mom, what is dat?”

“A tree?”

“No, what is dat?”

Oh, that’s just a something.”

“Mom, where your friends?”

“I don’t know.”

“Where your friends at, Mom?”

“My friends are at their house.”

“Where is my Daddy?”

“He’s at work.”

“Where is Isla?”

“I don’t know.”

“Mom, where Isla at?”

“She’s at her house.”

“Where her house?”

“In Stanwood.”

“Where my house?”

“In our town.”

“Where Gramma?”

“She’s at her house.”

“Where my kitty?”

“He’s at Auntie Beth’s house.”

“Where Daddy’s friends?”

“They are at their houses.”

“Where is Matt?”

“He is at work.”

“Where is Matt, Mom?”

“Matt is at his work, Violet.”

“Where my Daddy?”

“Daddy is at work.”

“Where my friends?”

“At their house.”

 

…a small, small excerpt.

Standard

Leave a Reply

