Tradition!

Traditiooooooonnnnnnnn! Tradition! I can’t say that word without thinking of Fiddler on the Roof. Sorry. It’s one of those inevitable mental chain-reactions for me. I think “tradition”, which spurs me to mentally sing the word, and then before I know it I find myself spending the day warding off dramatic renditions of “If I were a rich man….yaba-daba-daba-daba-daba-daba….” See? I get carried away.

…all day long i’d deedle-deedle-dum…

…if I were a wealthy MAAAAAN!!!…

Great. Guess what I’ll be humming all day?

See, you aren’t my children. You have no idea how this works. Given my strong propensity to burst out into broadway-style song and dance with the broom for their entertainment; I’m certain that if they find me mildly annoying now, I will certainly be prompting eye-rolls from my teenagers. Violet will actually tell me to stop. “Stop Mom! Yuuuucky song!”

Anyway…

My whole purpose for blogging this morning was to ask what your holiday traditions are. AJ and I are trying to figure out how to celebrate this season now that Violet is old enough to understand a lot.

Therefore, I am going to make a poll with a bunch of traditions and I want you to vote on the ones you do. I ran out of ideas. Please answer “Other” as well.

Standard

One thought on “Tradition!

  1. Jeremy LOVES to open a gift on Christmas eve. I still think it is weird and wrong. And presents we are giving and receiving are wrapped and kept under the tree – this might changes when there are little people in our house who will not think twice about unwrapping constantly when given the opportunity. (When I was little my parents put the tree and the presents in the playpen to keep us and the cats out!) Santa brings presents and leaves them in stockings or by the fireplace but they do not get there until Christmas morning of course.
    Wishing you a happy and blessed Christmas!

Leave a Reply

