Magic in the Air

Today I sat in a parking lot and savored every last drop of the combined sweetness of two children sleeping in the back seat and a peppermint mocha. I happen to be one of the those moms whose children don’t take naps on any sort of regular basis, so every once in a great while they both fall asleep at the same time–usually in a car seat where they have no choice but to sit still and listen to jazz music with the heat cranked up–the perfect storm. I must clarify–I do not think Jazz is boring, I think it’s relaxing.

I absolutely love this time of year. In our modern culture, we don’t spend a lot of time in tradition, and designated family times, and celebrations along those lines. I wish we did. Sometimes I am jealous of all the sacred feasts and holidays that other religions celebrate. Especially the sacred feasts. There is something deeply ingrained in human nature that loves a good party. We’re also creatures of habit, so repeating parties on an annual basis and calling them holidays is right up our alley. I think that’s one of the reasons that God set up so many holidays for the Israelites to celebrate. As everyone knows, all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy, or so I’ve heard. I have an uncle named Jack, I should ask him.

What? You’ve never heard that before? It’s an old saying, okay? I have no idea where it comes from, but I have a good guess that some little boy named Jack told that to his mom in between weeding the watermelons one summer day in an attempt to spend the rest of the afternoon in the creek.

Anyway…I love this season because of the camaraderie it fosters. Hugs are tighter, coffee is hotter, noses are redder, and everyone thinks of family.

All this over a peppermint mocha in a parking lot to the sound of snoring in the back seat…

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Magic in the Air

  1. Natalie says:

    always carry a book with you because you never know when you’ll get to sit in a parking lot with time all to yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

