And the results are in…

A couple of days ago, I put up a poll on my blog asking people what they thought I should do about Henry wanting to be held all the time. Two surprising results. First, nearly half of you say I should just hold him. Thank you, but not helpful. Second, no one thinks I should buy toys to entertain him. Really? that was actually my first thought. Also, roughly a third of you think that I should just let him cry. Of course we all know that this is really my only recourse. With that in mind, please look at the previous post with all those squishy little baby roll pictures. See those big blue eyes with lashes so long they could start an infomercial? See that smiling mouth wreathed in by plush cheeks and a perfect nose? I need you to understand something here. As adorable as he is, he is also equally tyrannical in his tantrums.

It’s official then–I’m going to stop cleaning my house.

In other news, we went car shopping today. AJ just got a job working at Seattle Children’s hospital for a couple of months, and our second car which now has more white hair and wrinkles than santa claus decided to put in it’s two-week notice just the other day. AJ and I have a love-hate relationship with car shopping. We love the thrill of the hunt, and take pride in getting great deals, but on the other hand we still shop for cars right around the poverty line, so ninety-percent of the cars we look at are a real piece of work. And I don’t mean that in  good way. Also, this means visiting smaller used-car dealers and having to sit there while someone who loves to hear the sound of their own voice rattles on and on about the importance of compression versus miles and how we’re not no way going to find anything clean and in good shape in our price range. It got so bad I actually said the two following phrases to one guy:

1.”This ain’t my first rodeo.”

and 2. “This is how we roll” (as in “hush your mouth for one dadblame second and let me explain that I’m used to buying a whole lot more car for that much money, or a whole lot less money for that much car.”)

Also, it appears we’ve finally reached the point in life every parent dreams of–embarrassing our kids. We took Violet and Henry on a test drive and the whole time Violet was telling us that she very much did not like the car we had chosen. When we asked her why, she said, “People no like this car, Mom. People no like this car.” Needless to say, we didn’t buy it. Apparently we’re susceptible to peer pressure too.

Standard

2 thoughts on “And the results are in…

  1. Eileen says:

    Sorry I missed your question about Henry wanting to be held all the time. I would have mentioned to you that you should train Violet to be a baby sitter. That would solve your problem. Have her dance, jump, talk and tickle Henry and keep him busy.

    She may grow up to never want children of her own. And may have some bitterness problems later on in life. But short term it will help you out.

    You can give her nickles for each 15 minutes she helps you out. And Henry will learn to play with his sister and be more independent!

Leave a Reply

