Zen

There’s several things you should know about here.

1. The sand on the beaches here is tan, which is remarkable, when you remember that Washington beaches are all in shades of grey.

2. Tradition is a wonderful thing. Especially when it gets handed down through generations within a family. That’s one of the reasons I like to make tortillas. You wouldn’t know it looking at me, but part of my heritage is spanish. Somewhere way back when, a mother taught her daughter how to make tortillas; how to roll them out, how to cook them perfectly, and how to flip them with her fingertips. That daughter taught her daughter and so on and so forth until it was my grandma teaching my mom and my mom teaching me. Someday I get to pass that down to Violet, because it’s not about the tortillas, it’s about the tradition.

3. Today I witnessed something nothing short of a miracle. Maybe it was just a little one, but it made a big difference to me. As Violet and I were walking back from the beach this afternoon (I was carrying Henry), I looked down and saw a giant bumblebee sitting on her chest. Its furry legs were clinging to the front of her striped shirt. In case you haven’t already assumed, she really doesn’t like bugs, spiders, and bees, and I knew that if she saw it she was going to flip her lid. I told her to put her arms up in the air and somehow even though she brushed her arm up against it, I managed to flick it off her after the second try. She never even knew about it. My miracle? One, bumblebee stings hurt. She didn’t get stung and neither did I. Two, that adrenaline-filled 10 seconds happened completely without her knowledge. I wouldn’t care if she had known after the fact, but if she had seen the bumblebee while it was still attached to her chest, she would almost certainly have been stung.

3. I never cared much for the word “zen” until I came here. There’s really no better way to describe the calm that the waves on the beach evoke. Whenever Henry comes to the beach he prefers to cuddle up in a shoulder and just watch the waves with a content look until he finally falls asleep. I think it has something to do with the sound. I realize I live on the west coast and visit the beach often, but the sound is different and i can’t describe it.

Toodles!

Standard

Leave a Reply

