cats and craziness

We’re leaving in less than a week. This is crazy. No, it’s just adventure and AJ and I have the travel bug real bad. I do alternately freak out at the thought of being that far away from “home” for that long, or mentally high-five myself for being brave enough to have such an adventurous life. Who am I kidding…the craziest adventure I’ve got going on right now, is trying to bribe a two-year old to eat her breakfast with her gummy bear vitamins while changing a diaper on the little boy who is determined to start peeing as soon as the diaper comes off, all while making a grocery list. Life in itself is a pretty wild ride when you have little kids. I think traveling and a change of pace helps me cope with the juxtaposition of doldrums and hair-pulling craziness that is parenthood.

Today we got rid of our cat. I should say Violet’s cat, since AJ and I don’t really care for him nearly as much as she does. AJ’s sister came to take him to her house since we can’t leave him here. I didn’t think Violet would understand that he was leaving–probably forever–but she’s been sad all day. I felt pretty much awful when Beth was carrying Charley away and Violet and I were standing in the doorway while she cried “Kitty, Kitty, Kitty…”

Anyway, (*sniff*) one last thing: I’ve never used skype before, have you? It’s a free internet-based video chat service that we’re going to use to stay in touch with friends and family. If you have skype and you want to chat, please let me know because I’d love to say hi and see some familiar faces while we’re gone. Plus, it would be a great help if you could chat with Violet while I clean or cook dinner or take a nap. Hey, that’s a great idea. I’m going to set up skype tomorrow morning so that I can just crawl back into bed. Who am I kidding…

Standard

One thought on “cats and craziness

Leave a Reply

