Lost

Yes, I’m referring to the TV show here. Here’s the deal: I’ve never actually watched a single episode from start to finish. A while ago, AJ and I tried to see what the craze was all about so we started at the beginning (which is usually a great place to start) but the entire time while I was biting my nails and bouncing up and down on the bed, AJ was making fun of it. He has an uncanny knack for knowing what is just about to happen in movies which drives me crazy.

Needless to say, I now can’t think of that first episode without laughing at the things he said, and since then we have not seen a single episode. Go ahead–judge me if you wish. I also don’t watch 24–although for different reasons (I was so mad at the writers of the show at the end of the first season that I vowed to never open my heart to Jack Bauer again. Plus, it’s pretty hard to not watch an entire season in one sitting).

Anyway, apparently Lost very recently had its series finale (yay, now i can stop hearing about it all the time). Since I have a facebook account I get to watch all my friends systematically freak out when they finish the season finale episode, and it reminds me that I’m glad I never started. When I was on facebook the other day, one of my friends put it best when she said this on her status update:

LOST is like the ex-boyfriend I broke up with years ago, and now he’s wreaking havoc on everyone else’s hearts. I was right about that jerk.

of course people started commenting…

I think what you meant to say is that LOST is like the boyfriend you broke up with because he lacked clear direction and the glimpses of promise were few and far between. But then you ran into him again a couple years later and he’s mature and everything you’d hoped he’d turn into and you’re kicking yourself for letting that one go. I hear he hangs out at hulu if you’re interested in a second chance. I bet he’ll take you back.

He’ll take ME back? He’d be so lucky…
No, no. I’m convinced I did the right thing and that LOST is not capable of change. I fear I’d be setting myself up for a regrettable disappointment if we spent time together again.

I dislike lost as well. I also knew he was a jerk.
Makes me appreciate shows like The Office where nothing ever really happens.
Standard

4 thoughts on “Lost

  1. Amanda says:

    Haha! Thanks, Pearl.

    Isn’t the Office coming to a close soon? I think it’s time has come.

  2. Boooooo…;)

    You sound like my husband. He refused to ever watch an episode with me leaving me alone every week for that hour. I just think JJ Abrams is a genius…hello… Felicity! and I think I’d follow him anywhere….well almost anywhere. I loved every episode and it looks like I’m one of the few who loved the finale. Also, though I think I have kind of an obsessive personality trait lurking beneith my quiet exterior so I think that might explain my love here.

    And again you missed out!

Leave a Reply

