A Shamless Plug for Which I Will Not Get Paid

Here’s where I buy the majority of my food staples: Azure Standard

I know, saying I buy “food staples” makes me sound like I live out on a prairie somewhere and lazy afternoons in the summer you’ll find me rocking on the front porch with a shotgun over my knee.  Not that that wouldn’t be kind of cool…except for the prairie part. I seriously need mountains around. Flat grasslands make me feel lonely even if there are plenty of people around. I think it’s the sky. It looks desolate and bored when there’s nothing to cover it except the horizon, and anything floating across its blue expanse would look lost and alone out there in the blue gauzyness. If it was a thoughtful sort of day and I happened to be lying on my back looking up at the sky and saw a lone bird flying across, I think the back of my throat might start to ache just a little.

I digressed. I think pregnancy is making me go off on rabbit trails every time I start typing, although I’m not sure if I can really blame pregnancy for anything else than I already do. After all, I already blame it for walking funny, looking funny, and feeling funny, although I guess thinking funny wouldn’t necessarily be a bad thing now, would it? See? I just did it again–I digressed. I actually had to go back and add to yesterday’s post after I published it because I realized that I had published it without remembering to finish a sentence. That’s how bad this is. Here’s why: I have six days till my due date and I am so ready to start sleeping on my stomach again. So ready.

Anyway, Azure Standard. Here’s an example of what I mean by staples. Currently in my pantry I have:

15 pounds of lentils,

10 pounds brown rice (short grain)

10 pounds of brown rice (basmati)

25 pounds of black beans

25 pounds of pinto beans (thats where refried beans come from, Kids)

10 pounds of great northern beans

25 pounds of rolled quick oats

25 pounds of unbleached wheat flour

Since these are all dry goods, they keep just fine in my pantry in the bags they come in. Maybe if you didn’t eat them often enough they would go bad–the flour would eventually be rancid–but I use wheat flour instead of white for the majority of my baking, we eat oatmeal for breakfast 4-5 times a week, and we have meals with beans and rice 4-5 times a week. Did you know that combining beans and rice in the same meal allows the amino acids to combine into a complete protein? I bet I just sounded really nerdy, sorry. Unless you live under a rock, you probably know that having a lot of non-animal protein in your diet is a great way to lose weight and stay healthy. Azure Standard ships free with a $50 minimum order to a drop point somewhere in your neighborhood. You should at least go and check it out–they sell everything from diapers and makeup to apples and frozen foods. Plus, buying in bulk is way cheaper.

Azure Standard people, if you’re reading this–can I get a discount off my next order?

Standard

One thought on “A Shamless Plug for Which I Will Not Get Paid

  1. Clayre says:

    That sounds awesome but I am so bad about eating the food we buy. I need to fix that.

    6 days Pearly? REAlly??? SO exciting! I need you to call me after a few days and give me some pointers and answer all of my questions!

Leave a Reply

