Guest Blogger!

Actually, she’s not a guest blogger–I just stole my little sister’s homework assignment and now I intend to post it on the internet for the whole world to read. She’ll thank me someday.

04/26/10 Edit: I forgot to add, she’s 12, or as she would have me say, “Almost 13.”

The first warm day of spring was hot and very humid. Flies swarmed around my sticky lemonade cup wanting to get a taste. Sweat trickled down my face; the heat seemed out of place–it was only March. I got up to finish my work: fresh cut grass smells so good–that may be the reason the clouds are dancing high up in the heavens. Birds soar over my head singing beautiful songs of praise to the God of love.

This is His story. Every day, every song, every tear is a part of his story. The flowers are starting to wake up, everything starts to grow, butterflies start to dance. As I sit there mulling over life and every little detail, I smile. I get up again and stretch and start climbing a tree. Flowers bloom everywhere, rabbits hop around playfully, puppies roll around biting each other. All that love and joy makes me smile.

At about noon, all the little creatures hid away–it was too hot. The thermometer read 104 degrees. “Wow!” I thought as I went inside. As I lay flat on my stomach I was thinking about life but soon I drifted off to sleep. I dreamed about the King of kings sitting on His throne telling all the creatures to wake up from their sleep for it was spring. He cares about every little thing.

The sun was blazing down when I woke up. I looked at my clock–4pm. I got up and went to the kitchen to get some water. After that I sat down on the couch to watch the news. The depressing headlines flashed across the screen–people dying, people lying. I decided to take a walk, and as I walked I felt total peace.

After the walk, I decided to lay in the yard. As I lay there a little rabbit came up to me–the curious little creature made me smile.

Life itself makes me smile.

How cute is that? This writing assignment is actually part of a game my family likes to play. Homeschoolers are weird like that–turning school stuff into games. Here’s how this one works: everyone sits in a circle around the table. One by one, each person in the circle gets to make up the first sentence or phrase of each paragraph. Thus, my brother said ” The first warm day of spring was hot and very humid” and then everyone wrote a paragraph with that as the starting sentence. After everyone was finished, the next brother in line said, “This is his story.” That’s how it works. Not unlike telling a roundabout story.

Standard

Leave a Reply

