Tradition

Traditions are important to me, and I was reminded of their value again as we celebrated Easter today. I love having a tradition like the Easter weekend, because it helps me to remember, and in remembering–look forward.

On Good Friday, I imagine the pain and desolation that was borne by my Savior as he took all my sins to the cross. I think of what it must have been like to be in the crowd shouting “Crucify Him!” knowing full well that such an act is very well within the scope of my weak humanity. On Saturday I think of the loss and disappointment felt by his followers as they struggled to cope with the meaning of His death, and it reminds me of feelings I have felt at low times in my life when Jesus and His life everlasting have felt as old and cold as a gravestone. On Easter Sunday, I imagine Peter running to the tomb, and Mary questioning the gardener, and a pile of graveclothes never to be used again. I am reminded of all these things, and in remembering, I look forward to their promises for my life.

It’s important to celebrate holidays and their traditions, because without traditions, our lives would be as shaky as a fiddler on the roof.

Standard

Leave a Reply

