Reasons Thriftstores Make My Blood Pressure Rise

So here’s the deal with me and thriftstores; I love a good bargain. I do not love going into buildings run by senior citizens trying to scalp people. Usually a good rule of thumb is; if you could get it new at Walmart for not too much more–you’re getting ripped off. I have a new rule. If you could get it new, waaaaay nicer, for much much less at say…Macy’s–you’re getting ripped off.

Case in point: yesterday I saw a computer desk at a thrift store for sale. It was so old, rickety, and bad-looking that I couldn’t even find a similar picture on google. Probably because if you had something that awful in your house, you would promptly take it to the dump and not waste the time to take a picture of it. Alternately, you might first peel off the fake wood sticker-stuff on top of the aging particle board because then it would just fall apart and you could put the pieces in your garbage. Anyway, guess how much it was?

$2.50?

Oh, I only wish.

$25.00? ridiculous, but I still wish..

$250.00? What? Yeah, no that’s two hundred and fifty dollars. It’s still there if you want it.

I’m trying to picture a scenario where someone makes a price like that. I have it–Tommy and Ronald are sitting in the back room. They’ve spent the better part of the morning working on their respective cups of black coffee, a cheese danish each, the pros and cons of steam-powered engines, and of course–pricing the donations. Tommy clears some old magazines off a desk in the back.

“Now Ron, what sort of a desk do you suppose this is?”

Ron shrugs, “I guess it looks real similar to the computer desk I helped Myrtle set up the other day.”

“How much do you think it’s worth?” asks Tommy, as he gives the computer desk an appraising eye.

“Well, I know my brother just bought one for $350 from Freddys. ”

“Better mark it down then–$250?

“$250 sounds like a bargain! Say, you want another danish?”

Standard

Leave a Reply

