Today I saved the Easter Bunny…or maybe one of his cousin’s

With eyes wide and tongue lolling, the tightly bound muscles of the yellow Labrador propelled him on. Every nerve was quivering with anticipation and his adrenaline was pumping as he steadily gained on his prey. Why? Because he was a dog, and that was a rabbit. If you had been able to stop him and ask him right then, I’m pretty sure you wouldn’t have gotten a better answer. Rabbits are tricky to chase, but Mr. Yellow Lab was fast. As the rabbit bounded up the embankment, the Lab leapt after him. Two giant strides later and he was–oh wait, this is where I hit him with my car. At 40 miles an hour.

I had seen the rabbit coming and just managed to miss him when out of the corner of my eye I saw the Lab leap in front of my car. The next thing I knew, I hit him right in the center of the grill–hard. The only thing I remember was looking in the rearview mirror and seeing him standing on the opposite side of the road looking after me with an expression on his face that seemed to say, “What was that for?” Then, he continued on in his pursuit of the rabbit.

Can dogs have nine lives too?

Standard

One thought on “Today I saved the Easter Bunny…or maybe one of his cousin’s

Leave a Reply

