and if the devil doesn’t like it he can sit on a tack

Tonight while Violet was in the tub, I was singing her some old VBS songs like This Little Light of Mine, Jesus Loves Me, and I’ve got the Joy, Joy, Joy.

I was having a hard time remembering all the verses to I’ve got the Joy. Other than the first obvious verse, and the one about the devil not liking it and sitting on a tack, I could only remember these two:

I’ve got that far out faith that freaks out farmers

Down in my heart

Down in my heart (etc

and,

I’ve got that bubbling belief that baffles Buddhists,

Down in my heart…

Problem is, when I sing these verses for AJ, he looks at me like I grew up in the ozarks. Are these real verses? I need to know.

Standard

3 thoughts on “and if the devil doesn’t like it he can sit on a tack

  1. Clayre says:

    Never.
    Heard.
    Those.
    Before.
    Ever.

    The only crazy very I’ve heard is, “Ive got the wonderful love of my blessed redeemer way down in the depths of my heart, down in the depths of my heart….”

    Other than that it was pretty standard
    “I’ve got the joy joy joy…”
    “I’ve got the peace that passes understanding…”

    You did indeed grow up in the Ozarks

Leave a Reply

