A Bite of Christmas

There are a few things I always make around Christmas. One of them is homemade gingersnaps. but obviously they’re homemade…because I make them around Christmas…in my home.

Gingersnaps

  1. 2 1/4 cups flour
  2. 1 cup packed brown sugar
  3. 3/4 cup soft butter or shortening. (butter tastes better and they turn out the same)
  4. 1/4 cup molasses
  5. 1 egg
  6. 1 teaspoon baking soda
  7. 1 teaspoon ginger
  8. 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  9. 1 teaspoon cloves
  10. 1/4ish cup granulated sugar.

Mix the egg, butter,  brown sugar, and molasses till blended with an electric mixer. Add half the flour and the rest of the ingredients except the granulated sugar and mix well. Add the rest of the floor and combine. Don’t you love all the different ways to describe a mixing action? combine…blend, beat, stir…i love it. The dough will be fairly stiff so you might have to finish stirring with a spoon.

Shape the dough into 1 inch balls. Roll balls in granulated sugar. Place balls 1 1/2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake at 375 degrees for 8-10 minutes or till edges are set and the tops crackle. Cool on a wire rack. If you take them out as soon as the tops crackle, they will be chewy, but the longer you wait the “snappier” the gingersnaps get…that is, until they burn.

Next up, I am actually including pictures from last night like I said I would. wow.

This is Violet eating her first LOC doughnut goodness.

These two don’t look very sure of eachother.

obviously it’s pretty blurry, but my battery was almost dead so I couldn’t retake. Either way, its pretty precious to see a little girl waving at a goat. Yes, it’s a goat. Don’t make me go all farm-nerd on you and explain why.

Standard

One thought on “A Bite of Christmas

  1. Clayre says:

    YUM-O! I might make those. I made some gingerbread men yesterday with my MIL, SIL and little sis. I was greatly disappointed when they didn’t get up off of the baking sheet and run away. We did, however, have one who got a little messed up and looked like he was kickin himself in the head.

    By the way….Violet is SO stinkin cute! I know you know that already though 😉

Leave a Reply

