“I belive I can fly, I believe I can touch the sky. I think about it every night and day, spread my wings and fly away…”

yes, the quotation marks are there to make sure you know I didn’t actually make that title up.

Anyway, what does an old camper canopy, a patio umbrella, and Mary Poppins have in common?

Magic, my friends…pure magic.

One summer afternoon the summer I was seven, a moving truck went past our house and a patio umbrella fell out of the back. My mom tried to flag them down, but they were long gone. Either way, by the time the patio umbrella got carried up into the front yard my imagination had already changed it’s title to teepee/playhouse/carousel tent/fashionable accessory, and most important of all–a parachute. I figured, Hey, airplanes weigh hundreds of pounds and they can fly–the only thing that’s keeping me on the ground is the lack of a giant umbrella. Needless to say, I spent the rest of the summer climbing up on top of the truck camper canopy and jumping off while holding onto the umbrella. I was confident that if I could just perfect my technique, the umbrella would catch a gust of wind and I’d be flying around the neighborhood. It never worked, but i’m pretty sure that’s only because the camper top wasn’t high enough.

in case you’re wondering, i stole these pictures from various websites.

Standard

Leave a Reply

